Four Marks Parish Council

Four Marks Parish Council are the first tier of local government whose role is to serve the needs of the residents of Four Marks.

The Council currently has 10 parish councillors, who serve a four year term of office. Councillors are unpaid elected representatives of the community. Although Parish Council powers are limited, they do have the opportunity to raise issues and negotiate directly with East Hampshire District Council (EHDC) and Hampshire County Council (HCC) over local matters of concern, and are formally consulted on all planning applications, taking a robust stance representing local views. Time is made available at every meeting to hear and discuss any issues of concern.

The Parish Council currently employ two members of staff, the Executive Officer, who is also the Responsible Financial Officer, and a part time Assistant to the Executive Officer who can be contacted at the Parish Office on 01420 768284, or by email or

The Parish Council have direct responsibility for public open spaces under their ownership, such as the Recreation Ground, the Cemetery, Swelling Hill Pond, Station Gardens, Oak Green parade, the green at Lymington Bottom, the wildlife areas surrounding Badger Close and Kingswood Copse.

Councillors have to adhere to guidelines laid down by national government. For details on those guidelines and Parish Council Powers see the following link to the Good Councillors Guide.